Deadlines at a Glance

Spring 2017 Deadlines at a Glance

The calendar below is a listing of key deadlines for the regular 15-week session. It is not a comprehensive institutional listing of all 15-week session deadlines. Deadlines for modular courses can be found at Key Deadlines.

Failure to enroll in a timely fashion may cause classes to be canceled due to low enrollment. Deans' offices will begin to determine class cancellation for the Spring Term on Thursday, December 8, 2016.

* If you want to consult with an advisor about your enrollment decision, you must do so no later than Friday, January 13, 2017.

Monday, January 19, 2017*
  • Last day to cancel enrollment without transcript record
Friday, February 3, 2017
  • Last Day to pay tuition and fees without $100 Late Payment Fee
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
  • Instruction begins
  • Friday, February 10, 2017
    • Last Day for 50% tuition adjustment on dropped classes
    • Last Day to Apply for Pass/Fail Privilege - Undergrads/Specials/Professionals
    • Last Day to Convert from Credit to Audit - Undergrads/Specials/Professionals
    Friday, January 20, 2017
    • Last Day to Enroll without $50 Late Initial Enrollment Fee except Specials and Guests
    Friday, March 17, 2017
    • Last Day to Drop courses --- All Students
    • Last day to apply for Pass/Fail Privilege - Graduate Students
    • Last day to convert from Credit to Audit - Graduate Students
    Wednesday, January 25, 2017
    • Last day to drop courses or withdraw without DR or W grade notation on Transcript
    Friday, April 7, 2017
    • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty - Undergrads/Specials/Professionals
    Friday, January 27, 2017
    • Last Day to Add your first class without Departmental & Dean's permission - All Students
    • Last Day to Add Courses without Departmental approval - All Students
    • Last Day for 100% tuition adjustment on dropped classes
    • SPECIALS AND GUESTS ONLY: Last Day to Enroll without $50 Late Initial Enrollment Fee
    Friday, May 4, 2017
    • Last Class Day
    • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty - Graduate Students

    Thursday May 18, 2017

    • Final Grades Due at 11:59 PM


    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Office of the Registrar
    333 East Campus Mall #10101
    Madison, WI 53715-1384
    7:45am – 4:30pm (M-F)
    Contact Us